America’s first presidential rematch since 1956, and other facts about the Biden-Trump sequel

Washington: Just when Americans thought they were out, Joe Biden and Donald Trump pulled them back in.

The sequel to the 2020 election has been officially scheduled as the President and his immediate predecessor have secured their parties’ nominations. Biden and Trump have made a political movie the likes of which the country has not seen before — even if the final version was in black and white.

The last rematch for the presidency occurred in 1956, when Republican President Dwight D. Eisenhower defeated his Democratic opponent Adlai Stevenson four years earlier.

Grover Cleveland, meanwhile, was the nation’s 22nd and 24th president, winning election in 1884 and 1892.

As sequels move forward, fans of politics and film can hope the Biden-Trump rematch ends up more like the acclaimed “The Godfather II” rather than the oft-derided “The Godfather III.” But there is hope that a Biden-Trump rematch will take its place alongside historical counterparts from the time of the country’s founding.

Here’s how it went down in history:

Sixty-eight years ago. Eisenhower defeated Stevenson in 1952, winning all but nine states, then the outgoing president faced Stevenson again four years later and won an even larger landslide.

There are other examples of rematches in presidential races, but they occurred much earlier in American history.

Republican President William McKinley defeated Democrat William Jennings Bryan in the 1896 election and again in the 1900 election. In 1836, Democrat Martin Van Buren defeated the Whig Party’s William Henry Harrison, but Harrison won a rematch between the two and won the presidency. Four years later.

John Quincy Adams and Andrew Jackson faced off twice for the presidency. The first time in 1824, when Adams won, and the second time in 1828, when Jackson defeated the incumbent Adams to become president.

He was followed by John Adams, a Federalist who was the nation’s second president, and Thomas Jefferson, its third and a Democratic-Republican. The two competed for the presidency in 1796 during the first contested presidential election to succeed George Washington, in which Adams won and Jefferson was elected Vice President. Four years later, Jefferson ran against incumbent Adams and defeated him.

So far, only one.

Grover Cleveland is the only president in American history to serve two consecutive terms. He successfully did what Trump is now attempting to do – win back the White House from the rival who took it from him.

A Democratic anti-corruption crusader and Governor of New York, Cleveland won the 1884 presidential election by a narrow margin. Four years later, he again won the popular vote, but was defeated in the Electoral College by Republican Benjamin Harrison. Cleveland again ran against Harrison in 1892, this time easily winning a second term.

Other former presidents have tried and failed to regain their former positions.

After serving two terms until 1877, Ulysses S. Grant again sought the Republican nomination during the 1880 election, but was defeated by James A. Lost to Garfield after a convention battle. A third term would then have been permitted because the 22nd Amendment, which limited presidents to two terms in office, was not ratified until 1951.

Three former presidents attempted unsuccessfully to reclaim the White House with parties different from the ones they were a part of when they won it – Teddy Roosevelt being the closest.

Roosevelt, a Republican, became president after the assassination of William McKinley in 1901 and was re-elected in 1904 – but stepped aside in 1908 for his chosen GOP successor, William H. Taft, to not seek another full term. Option chosen.

Roosevelt later became disillusioned with Taft and challenged him for the Republican nomination in 1912. When he was unsuccessful, Roosevelt ran for president on his own Progressive ticket, which became known as the Bull Moose Party because the former president joked that he felt “as strong as”. A bull moose.” Democrat Woodrow Wilson won the November election, but Roosevelt finished second, winning 88 electoral votes, while Taft received only 8 electoral votes.

Millard Fillmore became president after Zachary Taylor, the last president elected with the Whig Party, died in 1850. Fillmore unsuccessfully sought the Whig presidential nomination in 1852. Four years later, he ran for president with the Know-Nothing Party but lost each time. States except Maryland.

Democrat Martin Van Buren was president from 1837 to 1841 and lost his re-election bid to Whig Party candidate William Henry Harrison. Eight years later, Van Buren attempted a comeback with the Free Soil Party, but failed to gain any electoral votes.

Disclaimer: This post has been automatically published from an agency feed without any modifications to the text and has not been reviewed by an editor

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed – The Associated Press)