CISF suspends woman constable who allegedly ‘slapped’ Kangana Ranaut

The Central Industrial Security Force on Thursday suspended the woman constable who allegedly slapped actress Kangana Ranaut at the Chandigarh airport.

A senior CISF official confirmed this on Thursday and said that the process of registering an FIR against the woman constable is also underway.

“We have lodged a complaint against the woman constable concerned at the local police station. She has been suspended with immediate effect and an inquiry into the matter has been ordered,” the officer said.

Earlier today, Ranaut was allegedly slapped by a CISF constable while she was on her way to Delhi to attend the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) meeting to be held tomorrow.

As per a report in ANI, the incident took place around 3.30 pm when Kangana was about to catch a flight to Delhi from the Chandigarh airport.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Kangana Ranaut in a post on Twitter asked how the growing “extremism” and “terrorism” in Punjab can be ended.

“I am safe. I am absolutely fine. This incident happened during the security check. After the security check was over, a lady constable of CISF was waiting to pass through my cabin. Later, she came from the side, hit me on my face and started abusing me,” Ranaut said in a post on ‘X’.

“When I asked her why she did that, she told me that they (CISF officers) had supported the farmers’ protest. My (Kangana’s) question is how can we put an end to the growing extremism and terrorism in Punjab,” the BJP leader said.

Meanwhile, the CISF constable said his mother was among the farmers who were protesting against the farm laws, which have now been repealed.

He said, “She said that the farmers are sitting there for Rs 100. Will she go and sit there? When she made this statement, my mother was sitting there and protesting…”

The 15-month-long farmers’ protest was against the farm laws (now repealed), among other issues.

Kangana Ranaut from Mandi, Himachal Pradesh defeated Congress candidate Vikramaditya Singh by a margin of 74,755 votes.