Heads of two parties resign after defeat in Pakistan general elections

Jahangir Tareen, Patron-in-Chief Istehkaam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP), and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) Ameer Sirajul Haq have resigned from their respective top posts following the parties’ defeat in the general elections held in Pakistan on February 8.

Tareen, a prominent political figure and former close aide of jailed former Prime Minister Imran Khan, faced disappointment as his newly formed IPP secured only two seats in the National Assembly and one in the provincial assemblies.

In response to the electoral setback, Tareen announced his resignation from politics and his position within the party through a statement on his official social media account, X.

Expressing gratitude to his supporters and congratulating his opponents, Tareen wrote, “I want to thank everyone who supported me in this election and congratulate my opponents,” Tareen wrote in an Instagram post. Said in the post.

“I have great respect for the will of the people Pakistan“Expressing his gratitude to all IPP members,” he said, he said he would serve the country in a “personal capacity”.

He extended his best wishes to the members of the IPP and expressed his commitment to continue serving the nation in his personal capacity.

In a separate development, JI leader Sirajul Haq tendered his resignation citing failure to achieve targeted election results. The resignation was confirmed by JI spokesperson Qaiser Sharif.

Earlier in the day, Jamaat-e-Islami Karachi chief Hafiz Naimurrahman Due to alleged rigging, a seat in the Sindh Assembly was confiscated.

Addressing a press conference in Karachi, an angry Naeem said his team has worked on matching Form 45, Dawn newspaper reported. He said that the Election Commission of Pakistan has allegedly reduced his votes in Form 47.

“Therefore, I give up this seat,” Rehman said. “The actual victory was achieved by independent candidate Saif Bari, whose votes had dropped from 31,000 to 11,000,” he said.

He further said that MQM’s votes increased from 6,000 to 20,000.

According to the provisional results released by the ECP, Naeem had won from PS-129 (Karachi Central VIII) by 26,296 votes. According to ECP Form 47, PTI-backed independent candidate Saif Bari had collected 11,357 votes. (with inputs from agencies)