Imran Khan’s party will sit in the opposition, PML-N party has secured the support of another independent MLA.

In the recent general election, independent candidates, many of whom are affiliated with PTI, won the largest number of parliamentary seats. However, PTI does not have enough seats in the 266-member National Assembly to form a government on its own.

“We do not feel comfortable with both of them (Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Pakistan Peoples Party). There will be no talks with anyone regarding forming the government or forming the government together with them. It is better to sit in the opposition than form the government. [with them]But we feel we have the majority,” Gauahar Khan told Dawn News, reports news agency PTI.

The Election Commission of Pakistan revealed that independent candidates supported by PTI won 101 seats, followed by PML-N 75 seats, PPP 54 seats and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) 17 seats. Other parties secured 17 seats, while the result of one constituency was withheld, PTI reported.

Despite PTI’s early claims of forming the government, the prospect looked challenging from the beginning as at least 169 seats out of 336 were required to form the government.

A total of 266 seats were directly contested, while 60 women-reserved seats and 10 minority seats were allotted to the winning parties on the basis of proportional representation.

Since PTI was not allowed to contest elections with the same symbol as a single party, it was not eligible for reserved seats. As a result, the party chose to sit on the opposition benches, giving the PML-N, PPP and others an opportunity to explore alliance possibilities.

Gohar Khan also criticized politicians who had switched loyalties in the past and said the people had completely rejected them in the February 8 elections, PTI reported.

PML-N has the support of another independent MLA

In a boost to the PML-N party, another newly elected independent member of the National Assembly of Pakistan on Monday decided to join the party led by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif as it forms a coalition government after the recently concluded elections. Trying to make. hung parliament.

This comes a day after an independent candidate backed by Imran Khan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party joined the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N). Altogether two independent candidates have joined the PML-N in the lower house, PTI reported.

In the recent elections, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) emerged as the largest party with 227 seats, followed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) with 160 seats. Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) stood third with 45 seats.

According to preliminary results, independents won 101 seats in the National Assembly.

PML-N led by former prime minister Nawaz Sharif won 75 seats, while PPP led by former foreign minister Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari won 54 seats. MQM-P managed to secure 17 seats. Other parties like Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) won four seats, PML-Quaid won three and Istehkaam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) and Balochistan National Party (BNP) won two seats each.

To form a government, a party needs to win 133 of the 265 seats in the National Assembly. Overall, 169 seats are needed to gain a simple majority out of the total 336 seats, including slots reserved for women and minorities, which will be decided later.