Lok Sabha Elections: BJP CEC meeting concludes; Sources say 90 candidates have been finalized

The second meeting of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Central Election Committee (CEC) was held in the national capital late on Monday night, in which the names of around 90 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections were finalized, sources said.

According to party sources, the names of about 90 candidates from seven states were finalized in the meeting held at the BJP headquarters in Delhi. He said the party is expected to make an official announcement on this soon.

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP national president JP Nadda, among others.

Union Minister Anurag Thakur, Prahlad Joshi, Nityanand Rai, Party MP Sushil Modi, CR Patil, Telangana State President Kishan Reddy, Himachal LOP Jairam Thakur, Himachal in-charge Srikant Sharma, former Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa, Basavaraj Bommai, Karnataka State President Vijendra Yediyurappa. , Karnataka’s LOP R Ashok, Bihar’s Deputy CM Samrat Choudhary, Madhya Pradesh CM Mohan Yadav, Deputy CM Rajendra Shukla and Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel were also present.

According to sources, discussions were held regarding the Lok Sabha seats of Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh and Telangana. However, sources said that due to the ongoing alliance talks in Bihar, Tamil Nadu and Odisha, there may be a delay in finalizing the list of candidates for these states.

He said that discussions were held on all the remaining 11 seats in Gujarat and names on seven seats have been finalized.

For the remaining five seats of Madhya Pradesh, talks were concluded with agreement on four seats. The names of candidates were discussed for 25 seats in Maharashtra, eight seats in Telangana and all 28 seats in Karnataka. However, sources said JD(S) is likely to get three seats in Karnataka. Sources said that apart from this, all the four seats of Himachal Pradesh were also discussed.

The proposed alliance with parties like JD(U) in Bihar, Lok Janshakti Party and others, AIADMK in Tamil Nadu, JJP in Haryana and BJD in Odisha is yet to finalize seat-sharing arrangements.

On March 2, the BJP released its first list of 195 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the top, who will contest the lower house from Varanasi for the third consecutive time.

Of the 195 candidates, 34 are ministers from the Center and states, while two are former chief ministers who figure in the list.

In 2019, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won a total of 303 seats, leaving the grand old party behind with 52 seats. Lok Sabha elections are expected to be held sometime between April and May this year.

This story is sourced from third party syndicated feeds, agencies. Mid-Day does not accept any responsibility or liability for its accuracy, reliability, reliability and data of the text. Mid-Day Management/Mid-Day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove any content (without notice) at its sole discretion for any reason.