Nitish Kumar’s victory, Tejashwi’s speech stole the show

As expected, Nitish Kumar, who had the support of 128 MLAs in the Assembly, won the trust vote by 129 votes (130 in some reports), but not without much drama in the House and outside. While two RJD (Rashtriya Janata Dal) MLAs defected to the ruling party, at least one JDU (Janata Dal United) MLA was detained by the state police overnight in Nalanda and brought to the House under police protection.

However, it was former deputy chief minister and RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav who stole the show with a rousing speech in which he mocked the treasury benches and said, “You are so proud of Modi’s guarantees, can you guarantee? That Chief Minister Nitish Kumar will do this.” Will you not change sides again?”

The day began with the Governor’s address, in which he listed various achievements of the government, including “providing 3.5 lakh jobs since 2020”, when the BJP-JDU alliance was in power in the state.

No-confidence motion was passed against Speaker RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Chaudhary, which got 125 votes.

The trust vote came two weeks after Nitish Kumar jumped ship for the third time since 2020. During the day, reports revealed that three RJD MLAs (Prahlad Yadav, Neelam Devi and Chetan Anand) had joined the NDA faction.