Pakistan’s PML-N, PPP seek rotational prime ministership; Court rejects petitions against election results

The names of PML-N’s Nawaz Sharif and PPP’s Bilawal Bhutto Zardari are being proposed one by one for the post of Prime Minister. (Image: Reuters)

PML-N and PPP proposed to share the chair of the Prime Minister for two and three years.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) are discussing the possibility of appointing prime ministers from their parties under a power-sharing framework for three- and two-year terms, respectively. report by geonews,

The PPP and PML-N on Sunday discussed the idea of ​​appointing a prime minister for a half-term for the first time as part of efforts to form a coalition government at the Center and provinces. PML-N and PPP agreed in principle to come together for the political stability of Pakistan after the general elections.

The report also said that major parties have agreed to form a coalition government at the Centre, Punjab and Balochistan provinces.

PPP Chairman Asif Ali Zardari, Chairman Bilawal-Bhutto Zardari and former Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif of PML-N attended the meeting.

During the meeting, the PML-N leadership demanded that he retain the post of Prime Minister, but then Asif Ali Zardari told the participants that the election committee of the PPP has already nominated Bilawal for the post of Prime Minister of Pakistan. .

Leaders of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) also met PML-N leaders and agreed on political cooperation to form future governments. PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif and MQM-P’s Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui met with other senior leaders of both the parties and agreed in principle to work together for the benefit of Pakistan.

After hearing the PPP’s proposal, the leadership of both parties explored the possibility of appointing prime ministers from their parties for half a term of five years.

The PML-N leadership also told the PPP that it is in touch with independent candidates and the MQM-P leadership.

Court rejected petitions against the results

Meanwhile, the Lahore High Court rejected 18 petitions challenging the results of constituencies after the general elections on the basis of Form 47. Justice Ali Bakar Najafi dismissed the petitions against the election victory of PML-N leaders Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif, Maryam Nawaz, Hamza Shehbaz, Khawaja Asif, Attaullah Tarar and IPP leader Awan Chaudhry. dawn,

The judge directed the victim to contact the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).